Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

microcantilever analysis with sinusoidal

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Good day..

I'm new to comsol, and I'm trying to do an analysis with a sinusoidal wave as input to a microcantilever. I followed the example of a mems microcantilever in 2D in which the down part of the microcantilever is the positive electrode and then there's an air gap and then the ground electrode.

The example runs very well. In the example it's applied a DC sweep from 1 to 6.3 volts, but I want to enter a sinusoidal wave instead of a DC voltage.

I typed into the solver parameters -> parametric the function V*sin(2*pi*f0) but at the moment of solving the system it gives me error 7096 parametric list must be strictly monotone, and I'd investigated and this is as I understand, because comsol doesn't support for example 1,2,3,4,3,2,1 values, and because the sinusoidal is throwing values up and down, this could be the reason of my error.

Now, if i want to enter a sinusoidal voltage to my system and observe how the microcantilver moves with the frequency of the sinusoidal, how can I do that ??

i hope someone can help...

Thanks !!

5 Replies Last Post 14.11.2010, 15:31 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 14.11.2010, 02:33 GMT-5
Hi

COMSOL has several methods to solve time dependent problems, these are either a true time sequency, or by a harmonic sweep (assumed sinusoidal excitation with an given amplitude and possibly phase). The time solver takes quite some solver steps, hence processing time to cover several sinus oscillations, while the harmonic solver does this in one go.