Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Coupling for heat source term from reaction engineering or chds module

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear Experts

I am a student at IIT madras

I am strugling from last one month to get an heat source term in HT module.
My problem is, I have a catalytic reaction taking place in micro reactor at wall. Its an highily exhothermic reaction. Due to exhothermic heat, temperature in reactor will increase and in turn increases rate of reaction. And hence it is a 2 way coupled problem where mass and heat transfer equation need to be solved simultaneously.

The model which i have created is as follows.
1 mod1: only reaction enggineering
2.mod2: mod1 is syncronized with multiphysics having Laminar flow, Heat transfer in solids and fluids, Diluted species module

Please help me out to get correct effect of heat liberated in reactor due to moles reacted at surface. And i have surface reaction, not an volumetric reaction. I want an coupling in such way that boundry heat source should come as {delt_Hr [J/mol] *rate of product [mol/m^2/s]}.

I have attched the file. IN that in HT module i have tried to give manually boundry flux formula by multiplying delt Hr with Rsurf rateof product from mod1. But solution is not converging.

Regards
Shalaka

7 Replies Last Post 31.03.2011, 11:37 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 09.03.2011, 02:28 GMT-5
Hi
You don't need to use reaction engineering physics, just define all your rate expression as variables and just use diluted chemical species physics along with flow. I have solved more complicated kinetic models than this case without using reaction engineering physics.
MM