Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

how to design an unbiased resonator

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

hello, I'm relatively new to comsol. I use version 4.2a.
I want to design a mems resonator similar to the example model in the model library - mems.
Here the example biased_resonator_2d_freq is interesting for me.

To understand how comsol uses the parameter internally, I wanted to try an unbiased resonator, which is just actuated by an AC voltage to see the unbiased displacement of the resonator vs. the frequency in a sweep around the resonance frequency (instead of like in the example a actuation AC voltage + a DC bias).

In the example the study prestressed analysis, frequency domain is used, which contains a stationary part and a frequency domain part.
As far as I understand it, the DC bias is represented by the electric potential in electromechanics - electric potential 3 and the AC actuation by the electric potential in electromechanics - electric potential 3 - harmonic perturbation 1.
But if I just want the AC actuation and set the DC bias to 0 an error occurs.

Can I instead use only a frequency domain study for analyzing the unbiased case. But here I have only the option of the electric potential in electromechanics - electric potential 3 (which represented the DC voltage), The harmonic perturbation does not have any effect on the result (as far as I can say). Do I have to use the effective voltage of the AC actuation for the electric potential or is this model also not suited to solve the unbiased resonator?

How can I simulate the problem instead?

I hope somebody can give me a tip how to solve it.

2 Replies Last Post 12.08.2012, 13:31 GMT-4
COMSOL Moderator