Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Prescribed Displacement or Fixed Constraint

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello, I'm using Comsol Multiphysics for my master thesis to realize a breast model. Now I'm studying the effects of the gravity load on the breast tissues, but I have some problems to reproduce the same results which are reported in my reference (an article that I found in literature). I've created a hemisperical model of four concentric tissue layers with uniform thickness; then I chose my boundary condition, by imposing a fixed contraint on the chest wall. (the article says that "An additional boundary condition was assumed that no displacement occurs on the chest wall interface"). However, i didn't obtain the same results.

Could this be related to the boundary condition? Is there any difference between "fixed contraint" and "prescribed displacement (where I impose displacement equal to zero in all directions)?

Thanking you in advance, Maria

16 Replies Last Post 17.12.2018, 15:16 GMT-5
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 5 years ago 14.12.2018, 13:59 GMT-5

No, there is no difference. A fixed constraint is the same as prescribing all displacements to be zero.

Jeff

-------------------
Jeff Hiller
No, there is no difference. A fixed constraint is the same as prescribing all displacements to be zero. Jeff

Posted: 5 years ago 15.12.2018, 01:48 GMT-5

Thank you so much Jeff! So, which kind of boundary condition do you suggest me in order to replicate what the article says?

Thank you so much Jeff! So, which kind of boundary condition do you suggest me in order to replicate what the article says?

Posted: 5 years ago 15.12.2018, 07:14 GMT-5

It does not sound like the discrepancy between your results and the reference are due to that boundary condition.

Jeff

-------------------
Jeff Hiller