Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Permanent Magnet

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello All,

I am fairly new to Comsol and I am just beginning to learn about Magnetics. I am trying to model a permanent magnet in Comsol of 0.6T. As a result, I define the material properties as 0.6T, but when the analysis is complete, it only shows a max of 0.45T or so. Is there a reason it does this? I thought by defining it as 0.6T, that it should be max value. I would appreciate any input you all may be able to provide.

Thanks,
Jim

4 Replies Last Post 19.03.2010, 01:20 GMT-4
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 11.02.2010, 13:27 GMT-5
The values of magnetic material parameters such as Br and Hci do not all by themselves tell you directly what local B and H fields will be. The magnet's geometry and the details of the magnetic circuit (including air, iron, etc) all matter a great deal. You need to learn more about permanent magnets and magnetic circuits.

For detailed guidance, see for example:
Permanent Magnet Materials and their Application (Cambridge Studies in Magnetism)
by Peter Campbell.

www.amazon.com/Permanent-Materials-Application-Cambridge-Magnetism/dp/0521566886/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1265912503&sr=1-10