Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Reverse Joule Heating

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi.

This is my first time using Comsol so please bare with me :)

I'm doing a model of a HV power cable, that heats up due to the current flowing through it.
I know that the temperature of the isolation material can not exceed 90degC so i want to figure out how much current this allows.

It's a 2D model where i have a circular crosssection of the cable.

I set the temperature at the boundry of the conductor to 90degC. I put a 1.3m thick layer of soil around the cable (also circular) which is 15degC at the outer boundry.

Then I set a point potential in the middle of the conductor to 150kV and put ground at the outer boundry of the isolation layer.

When i run this i get some very low current densities. Maybe my problem is that the current i flowing i random directions and not into or out of the 2D plane as was intended.

And i'm not sure that it even depends on the temperature i specified or just calculates from the voltage and the resistance of the material.

\Simon

PS. i attatched my comcol file

8 Replies Last Post 01.12.2016, 08:12 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 17.11.2012, 03:43 GMT-5
Hi,

what you did is to give a disc of copper a potential of 15 kV and sourround it with some grounded, insulating material. Electrically-physically thinking, not simulation-minded thinking, what would happen?

Nothing.

There is no way the current could pass. Resulting in no influence to the thermodynamics.

You have a cable, that is something like an ideal geometry for an axisymmetric model. Try it this way. 2D axisymmetric model with a reasonable voltage drop along the middle of the cable, so that the current has a way to follow.

Good luck!