Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Using interpolation to define temperature-dependent material properties

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am a COMSOL beginner. Trying to added a file containing temperatures and measured material properties and then utilize an interpolation function to define the temperature-dependent material properties. I have attached both the COMSOL file and the material property file. The first and third columns contain the temperatures and the 2nd and 4th columns are the corresponding measured properties. (I've attached the 'xlsx' file as I couldn't attached the 'csv' file I used in the model)

Any advice will be appreciated. Perhaps there already exist examples that I can follow to complete my model.

Thanks in advance.

KB

6 Replies Last Post 04.07.2014, 10:30 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 02.01.2013, 18:15 GMT-5
I had the same problem-temperature dependent structural and thermal properties. This is messy.

The first thing I would do would be to separate this table into two tables with only two columns for each table - independent variable (temperature) and dependent variable (ie, k or Cp).

Right click under basic properties or others (elasticplastic) - comes up with functions-click for interpolation. Comes up with an input request.

Name your function i.e. Cp, Cp1, etc at top row.

Below the blank table listing is the option to read in the list-this includes browsing. Browse for your file (all mine were txt in desktop.

Read in and save.