Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Expansion - Deflection Nozzle

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everybody,

I'm a student in the Von Karman Institute in Belgium.
I've a project about an expansion - deflection nozzle. I would like to realize a Comsol model of it. You can see on the pic that it's pretty simple. Just a nozlle with a chamber pressure at the top (102 bar and 2400 K) and a atmosperic pressure for the outlet. I've choose a k-eps model but my calculations never converge !! I don't know what to do. If you can help me.

Just to know, it's not my first model with Comsol. But I cannot understand what happend with this one.
If you need more details, tell me.

Thanks a lot for your answers !

3 Replies Last Post 25.05.2010, 12:10 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 25.05.2010, 06:53 GMT-4
well you dont provide a lot of info and the attached pic is useless... is it compressible fluid or incompressible for example air water other...
But anyway,
I dont think Comsol can solve this problem. Based on the pressure and temperature you give , it is going to be fully turbulent probably supersonic expansion .. you will need state of the art specialized CFD codes and even there the guidance of an expert in these calculations will most probably be needed. also 2400K is pretty hot you will need meaningful EOS because at least initially your fluid should have some level of molecular dissociations and recombination during expansion might be significant.
And again except MAYBE if you code everything using pde modes, and this will be a major work to optimize the solver and validate it, I dont htink Comsol can deal with that ...
sorry for the bad news...
JF