Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Defining magnetic potential boundary conditions - need const mag field btw current planes in 2d simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear All

I am new to COMSOL. I want to solve for current distribution in the windings of a toroidal inductor. As a very simplified case I have attached a file, in which I have 2 copper bars, carrying +1Amp and -1 Amp.

I need to define the boundary conditions in a way that the magnetic field comes from left side and gets out from right side between the two planes. Physically I should have a constant magnetic field between the planes (bars), and zero magnetic field outside those (on top and bottom regions).

This means I should physically have +constant magnetic vector potential (name it +AzConst) on the top boundary (boundary 11), and -AzConst on boundary 2 (the bottom boundary). And I need whatever function Az(y) has on the left side boundary (1 and 9) to be the same function (Az(y)) on the right side boundaries (12 and 16).

Do you know how can I define these boundary conditions?

Bests,
- Mohammad

3 Replies Last Post 27.11.2010, 04:35 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 25.11.2010, 15:26 GMT-5
Hi

it sounds like you are asking for a periodic boundary condition, or ?

there are also manual ways to do that I believe there is an exdample in the ACDC doc 3.5, but with the new V4 its not trivial to be a beginner and try to port a 3.5 explanation to v4. Try first to read the v4 doc, and the 4.1 if you have got it, it's more complete than the 4.0

--
Good luck
Ivar