Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

material definition

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi

Currently COMSOL is unable to define frequency dependent metals. I want to define a new material for frequency dependent effective refractive index of a metal based on Johnson, P. and R. Christy (1972) Physical Review B 6(12): 4370-4379. But being a newbie I am not sure how to do go about it. Can anyone please explain this to me?

Thanks,

Amin

13 Replies Last Post 17.10.2014, 08:54 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 15.01.2011, 15:44 GMT-5
Hi

Why, if you can make Temperature and Pressure dependent density, heat capacity ... why not also frequency dependent refractive index/absorption ?

You should be able to do it the same way, as for T or p.

Perhaps it's wiser to use a material dependency variable name such as "Myfreq" to avoid any confusion with the frequenc variable used by COMSOL, and then add a user varaible for your model with Myfreq=freq, or what ever your frequency variable is

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi Why, if you can make Temperature and Pressure dependent density, heat capacity ... why not also frequency dependent refractive index/absorption ? You should be able to do it the same way, as for T or p. Perhaps it's wiser to use a material dependency variable name such as "Myfreq" to avoid any confusion with the frequenc variable used by COMSOL, and then add a user varaible for your model with Myfreq=freq, or what ever your frequency variable is -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 16.01.2011, 08:12 GMT-5
Hi Ivar