Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Laser - Moving a Heat Boundary

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everybody,

I'm new to COMSOL 4.0a and currently trying to move a heat source over a simple plate. Stuck, on what I expect to be a simple model. I looked at the 699 model, but assumption (point source) are not correct for my modeling.

Here is where I am:

- I have a plate on which is a small block (representing the laser beam) : Heat Flux condition is set on his upper face.

- I'm trying to move the source over the plate on straight line ( like Bianco and Manca did. )
To achieve this I used the Translational Motion under Heat Transfer in Solids. Based on the built-in disc brake model.

So the heat flow is acting like if the heat source is moving (directionnal flow), but the heat source stay at its initial position ! So I have a correct heat flow, virtually moving, but that stay at the same place on the plate.

How can I proceed to move the block (laser beam) on the plate ?

Thank you in advance for the tips !
Regards,

23 Replies Last Post 11.11.2011, 08:02 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 12.02.2011, 13:42 GMT-5
Update on this:

I'm now using a parameter sweep (under study) to move the geometric position of the heat source. Effectively move the laser beam, but the heat flow in the workpiece seem to be independent from the precedent positions travelled by the laser beam: no heat flow trail.

Update on this: I'm now using a parameter sweep (under study) to move the geometric position of the heat source. Effectively move the laser beam, but the heat flow in the workpiece seem to be independent from the precedent positions travelled by the laser beam: no heat flow trail.

Posted: 1 decade ago 12.02.2011, 16:20 GMT-5
Ok, it is now working.
Ok, it is now working.