Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Heat source simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I'm a complete comsol newbie. I'm trying to run a simulation that seems to be quite simple yet somehow I keep getting errors upon computing (usually the error is "The Relative Residual (x) Is Greater Than The Relative Tolerance"). Basically I'm trying to get the temp on a simplified transformer model (which I'v imported from an .stp file if it matters), which consists of a ferrite core, copper windings and a surrounding block of air I've added, and calculate it based on known losses. I created a steady-state project with the heat transfer in solids physic. Each relevant component was assigned as a heat source with a total power of the given losses. I left all other settings as default. I also assigned each component with its material and added missing properties as instructed by the software. Your assistance would be highly appreciated as I keep feeling as if I'm missing some basic consepts, given the fact that I'm failing to do some things that seem quite trivial. I'm attaching my model here.

Thank you

2 Replies Last Post 16.01.2019, 14:29 MEZ
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 5 years ago 16.01.2019, 14:22 MEZ

Hello Nadav,

The fundamental problem here is that you have heat sources and nowhere for the heat to leave: all your outside boundaries are insulated. So no stationary solution exists.