Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

mesh data

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

hi
anyone can tell me how to get volume of each elements in comsol?, is it possible to get element numbers in comsol?, I hope 'dvol' give the element volume scale factor, from manual I understood its value of Jacobian not the volume of element.From previous forums I understood that we can export mesh data. since I am new to comsol not able to locate it in comsol GUI.
******improtant****
Can anyone give me the step by step procedure to get the volume of each elements in comsol?

9 Replies Last Post 23.08.2012, 03:26 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 16.01.2012, 01:43 GMT-5
Hi

You can get the volume, area, length number of items respectively of the geometrical ENTITIES by integrating with operand "1".
But from the GUI I do not know how to access each mesh elements. Probably via API or Matlab code, anyhow I'm interested in the physical results that can all be accessed via the GUI, and not the sampling of the mesh, outside "h" or dvol

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi You can get the volume, area, length number of items respectively of the geometrical ENTITIES by integrating with operand "1". But from the GUI I do not know how to access each mesh elements. Probably via API or Matlab code, anyhow I'm interested in the physical results that can all be accessed via the GUI, and not the sampling of the mesh, outside "h" or dvol -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 16.01.2012, 04:48 GMT-5
hi ivar