Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Ice melting simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm very very new in Comsol (2 days) and I'm trying to simulate the melting of a piece of ice into water using the heat transfer module.
I don't need (for now) moving meshes or other but I would like to replicate in v. 4.2 the same thing as I found in www.comsol.com/showroom/gallery/474/

The problem is that the example was made in 3.5 in witch it appears a nice property that is "volume fraction" that I can't find in material definitions in 4.2 version. How could I solve this problem?

I found also in the material library H2O with different phases but I don't think that using this kind of material will help in taking into account phase changes.

thank you.

6 Replies Last Post 21.03.2012, 16:43 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 29.02.2012, 16:20 GMT-5
Hi

indeed he Ice phase change model is not in the 4 library, but perhaps the HT Continuous Casting model can give you some clues

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi indeed he Ice phase change model is not in the 4 library, but perhaps the HT Continuous Casting model can give you some clues -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 01.03.2012, 04:21 GMT-5
Thanks you very much for the precious hint!

Now I have another question:
in the continuous casting model they said that the difference between solid and liquid Cp (apart for the fusion latent heat) is given by a dH/T_m (applied with an Heaviside function) where
dH=205 kJ/(kg K) is the latent heat
T_m= 1356 is the melting temperature
so that

Cp(solid)=380[J/(kg K)]
Cp(liquid)= 380+dH/T_m=530 [J/(kg K)] as requested.