Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Custom transient RF signal from specific location as seen by antenna

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Comsol and I'm trying to model a situation for astrophysics research.

We are designing an antenna that lies inside a balloon that will be floating about the surface of the Earth at some distance. We want to observe a transient RF signal produced by a particle interaction in the atmosphere at a particular location. The interior surface of the balloon has a reflective surface that focuses the RF signal onto the antenna at the center of the balloon. We want to determine the response of the antenna to the signal produced at particular locations relative to the location of the balloon.

How can I make a custom transient "point source" RF signal that begins at one particular location (with no physically source present in the model, just the brief RF pulse) and propagates so that we can determine the response of the antenna? Since this signal is not actually spherically symmetric but is emitted within a cone, I would also like to know if it is possible to generate this pulse so that it propagates in a conical shape.

Thank you in advance,
Carl

5 Replies Last Post 02.05.2012, 05:27 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 29.03.2012, 13:55 GMT-4
I think the easiest way to define conical source is to create an additional small antenna with conical pattern. I'm not sure if it's possible at all to create conical source without having it physically present in the model. And it's rather hard to correctly implement a source with a given pattern through boundary condition.