Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Shortwave diathermy

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hallo for everybody,
I am new in COMSOL and I have to write my diploma thesis. It deals with Biological tissue heating in shortwave diathermy. Shortwave diathermy is use of electromagnetic wave in clinical therapy for tissue heating (for example knee – arthrosis treatement). 2 electrodes are used (one of aech side of tissue) represent the capacitor plates and tissue between is a dielectric. Reserved frequency for this treatement is 27.12MHz and applied power is 20-300Watt. Any other parameter (curren, voltage) I don´t know. Please, what kind of physic can I use?? The frequency and applied power is necessary to enter. At first I used RF module - Electromagnetic wave (and Bioheat), but it is not possible to built a capacitor here. If I tryed to use Electric current, it is not possible to enter frequency and power. Is it possible to use Electric current physic for AC and enter freguency or in solver choose frequency domain? I will be glad for any idea and excuse my English :-)
With regards Lucie CZ

6 Replies Last Post 17.04.2012, 13:14 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 16.04.2012, 03:56 GMT-4
Lucie,

you could start with AC/DC because even in the tissue the wavelength is probably more than 10 times the dimensions of your apparatus.
Of course you can model a capacitor in RF. The electrodes ARE the capacitor. You will need to couple the AC model to heat transfer.

Cheers
Edgar