Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Include spring in Modal Analysis

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I have a complicated model on hand that includes a flexsure bearing. The bearing actually works a torsional spring, that is, has stiffness in rotational direction.

Since the model is too complicated, I would like to simplify the bearing part to reduce the size of mesh result. Right now I am thinking of model it as a very simple geometry (like a beam or a set of beams) and assign them with translational and torsional stiffness character that matches the original bearing.

I am new to COMSOL, so I really don't know whether it is feasible in COMSOL. I would appreciate if anyone could offer me some ideas. Thank you.

6 Replies Last Post 25.03.2010, 23:44 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 25.03.2010, 03:05 GMT-4
Hi

Feasible certainly, but its slightly tricky, you must write your eqations yourself and for rotations its the most complex.

Take a look at the hierarchy of structural elements in V3.5a: you have trusses (y,v,w but no rotations), beams (u,v,w,thx,thy,thz), shells (u,v,w,thx,thy,thz), and solids (u,v,w,p but no rotations).

Trusses can only take axial forces, beams can, in addition to axial forces, bend with moments (hence the rotation), shells the same, while solids take all cases, but loads are expressed as pressure (force over area). The rotation are not expressed as such in the solid structural case, but they are there, at least for small rigid body rotation through the antiysymmetric part of the global strain tensor (thx=0.5*(wy-vx), thy=0.5*(uz-wx), and thz=0.5*(vx-uy) PLS check carefully the order and signs as I might have mistyped one or the other, compare them with the strain values).